UDC Template
Updated Nov 21, 2011 7:49 AM
Template for UDC website
Use template

115days until
UDC 2012 in Tallahassee

Social Butterfly?

Website Questions?
Please Contact
UDC Home‎ > ‎

Call For Nominations -- Dallas Smythe Award

posted Sep 27, 2011 1:25 PM by T.C. Corrigan   [ updated Sep 27, 2011 1:29 PM ]
The Dallas Smythe Award is given in memory of one of the great pioneers of the study of the political economy of communications and one of the great leaders in the struggle for democratic communications.  At each conference, the Union for Democratic Communications honors a critical media scholar/activist whose work exhibits the spirit of engagement, democracy, teaching, and feistiness to which the UDC is committed.

Past recipients of the Dallas Smythe Award include Robert McChesney, DeeDee Halleck, Herb Schiller, Tom Guback, Santiago Alvarez, Vincent Mosco, Eileen Meehan, Janet Wasko, Ed Herman, Peter Phillips, and Manju Pendakur.

The steering committee is soliciting nominations for the next award, to be presented at the 2012 conference in Tallahassee, FL, May 10-12.

Please send your nominations to Jennifer Proffitt at jproffitt@fsu.edu by November 1, 2011. Please include a description of your nominee’s qualifications and accomplishments.

    Sign in  |  Terms  |  Report Abuse  |  Print page  |  Powered by Google Sites